Review Roundup – A Time for Reflection

Posted by on Jan 5, 2016 in Word from Gazon | Comments Off on Review Roundup – A Time for Reflection

As we look back over the past year and forward to the New Year we would like to thank all our guests who have taken the time to post reviews about their stay at the Haras du Gazon.

‘Lovely gite, peaceful location, but plenty to do’

Stayed in late August with 4 adults and 2 young children, which worked really well in the gite. There was plenty for the kids to do – swimming, feeding the horses, games room etc, but also tranquility and a relaxing place for the adults. The gite was really well equipped, with everything we could have needed, and the owners were really helpful, both in giving information before we arrived, and showing us around when we got there. Plenty to do in the local area, although a lot of the main attractions are an hour or so drive.

AlanC_ac  UK  Aug 2015

The perfect place to stay for a trip to Normandy

We stayed at Haras du gazon en route to Brittany for 4 nights in July and our first thought on arrival was that we wished we were staying longer. We travelled in a large group of friends with children age ranging from 14-8 years. The setting is amazing with plenty to do for everyone. The kids particularly enjoyed the well equipped games room and swimming pool but loved the farm particularly with the horses in such close proximity. Tim and Anne were very helpful. The welcome and information provided to guests for the local area were first rate (particularly the recommendations to visit the Normandy beaches with children.) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again for longer.

Caroline H Jul 2015.    Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

Lovely,lovely place to stay, in a beautiful location with pool, pool room and tennis courts for happy children

When, reluctantly, leaving our gite, we found Bayeux market to be small and perfect to visit and of, course, the Tapestry as well as the museums in Bayeux and Notre Dame church. Additionally, Falaise Chateau, birth place of William the Conqueror, was of interest for all ages and very reasonable. Some of the major WW2 beaches are an easy drive to visit.

Stephanie R,  Northampton, United Kingdom. Sep 2015

Thoroughly recommended

Fantastic week in a unique setting, accommodation is excellent with really nice touches such as welcome sweets, biscuits and lovely French cider. Facilities great, swimming, tennis, games room and nice walks. Lots to see in Normandy and all within easy reach of the gite. All in all a totally relaxing holiday in an idyllic setting, we all loved it!

1448thomas, London Aug 2015

Lovely gite in a glorious setting

Great place to stay very relaxing. The children loved the pool which although the weather wasn’t great was excellent because it was covered. Great centre for exploring Normandy or just chilling out

ianmc_12,Birmingham, United Kingdom Jul 2015


Stayed for 2 weeks from 25th July and it was fab!. We have stayed in France on many occasions but this time had our friends and their children with us for their first stay. We chose Haras du Gazon as we wanted somewhere within 4 hours of Normandy. Our Gite ticked all the boxes. It had everything we needed…pool, games room, wi-fi, tennis, fantastic grounds and top priority! The carp lake. Our party caught over 35 decent carp over the fortnight. It was idyllic!. Baloubet Gite has a,lovely balcony overlooking the lake which made it for us. Lots to do In the area, go-karting, kayaking, zip-wiring, Festyland theme park, fishing, cycling (bikes are provided at the Gite), D-Day beaches and museum visits – we did the lot! The added bonus was the scorching weather for 10 days out of the 14. This complex also has 3 other very large Gites on site, as well as over 100 horses that are bred and trained there fir showjumping. The only downsides were the large number of flies (which bite!) although we has the kids on swatting duty each day…plus the horrendous journeys through the Eurotunnel caused by migrant crisis – nightmare. We didn’t eat out a lot but can thoroughly recommend Top Pizza at Falaise! Best Pizzas for miles around…nuce to eat in with a cold cider. Overall – a brilliant place to stay with brilliant facilities!

JillfromWakey   Wakefield, United Kingdom Aug 2015

Something for everyone!

I needed to book a place for 11 people, made up of three generations and Gite Alme at Haras du Gazon was perfection. The gite was superb, wonderfully equipped and the whole site is stunningly beautiful. There is a large, well maintained swimming pool, a children’s play area, beautiful gardens, a lake full of carp which one can fish and horses, swans, geese and coypu, which kept our youngsters constantly occupied. The owners, Tim and Annie, were excellent, always very helpful if we needed to ask advice and keen to ensure that our holiday was just what we wanted it to be. I am certain that we will be going back again in future years.

TC&EA  Leamington Spa Jul 2015

Horse heaven

The Haras du Gazon is situated off the beaten track, surrounded by beautiful Normandy pastures and stone villages. However it is not isolated , as a bustling town, Falaise , with it’s castle is an easy 10 minute drive away. Bayeux, Caen, Rouen and the Normandy beaches are all close by and we easily managed a trip to Monet’s garden at Giverny. The chateau itself is elegant and our gite, Baloubet was beautifully converted, well-equipped and comfy – a true home from home. The owners, Tim and Annie, bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. We can thoroughly recommend the Haras to anyone – couples, families, groups of friends – and if you love thoroughbred horses,you’ll be in seventh heaven !!

MickS  Kent, May 2015

Great rural holiday

We stayed at Haras du Gazon with my 3 children under 5 and our parents. All of us really enjoyed the location, fantastic welcome and beautiful accommodation. The hosts are incredibly helpful and always around without being intrusive. Thank you for a great weeks holiday.

Alice L, May 2015

A wonderful friendly stay

Haras du Gazon is a large estate situated in a beautiful country location in Normandy, France. It is concerned mainly with horses of which there are many. Our accommodation was situated at the end of a stable block above the stables with a lovely balcony overlooking a lake and a compound for swans and geese. We were greeted by the most friendly and lovely owner Annie who took the time to show us the estate with its facilities for our use which were very children orientated consisting of an enclosed swimming pool, games room with a pool table, table tennis and cycles. Our accommodation was quite superb with every facility necessary for a stay of any length of time. We would thoroughly recommend Haras du Gazon to anyone.

rader  UK  Apr 2015

A lovely combination of calmness, activities, and authentic charm

We stayed at Gite Double Espoir forEaster 2015 and found the whole experience very enjoyable. The villa and estate offer a lovely combination of calmness, activities, and authentic charm. If you are up to a more upbeat holiday the tennis courts, game room and swimming pool will keep you busy. For those interested in relaxing – there is plenty nearby walks with picturesque scenery and typical rural charm. The estate and villa are well kept, spacious and beautifully organised. The hosts are really friendly, helpful, and have really thought through all the little details that can make your stay really enjoyable (like the generous welcome pack featuring local cider). We went on a day trip to Mont St. Michel and stocked up on lovely French wine and cheese in nearby Falaise. There’s plenty to see and do in the area (car necessary) – Anne is really helpful in providing you with all the information and tourist advice. Great value for money too – can’t recommend enough! We’re planning to go again soon.

Robert S   London, United Kingdom Apr 2015

Brilliant family fun

Haras du Gazon is in a very peaceful and quiet location in Normandy, but is not far away from many attractions. There are 3-4 Gites in total with the owners/hosts Tim and Anne living in the main house. Our stay was as a three generation one week stay as a 75th birthday present to my Mum, with three children (8,7 and 5) and it worked brilliantly, although 1 week was a little too short. There is plenty to do at the Gites: swimming pool, games rooms, tennis a short walk away and plenty of outdoor space to run around in. The kids loved watching the daily routine with the horses as well as feeding them on numerous occasions during the day. Each child adopted a horse as their personal favourite. Although all the Gites were occupied, there was never a sense of being crowded as there was always plenty of space at every activity. Tim and Anne are excellent hosts, were always available if we had any questions and directed us to numerous places we otherwise would not have gone to: Falaise castle (home of William the Conqueror), several local markets, D-Day landing beaches and museums, the Bayeux tapestry. The quality of the Gites was excellent – the best I have stayed in in France, and with the TV with English satellite and DVD’s, everyone was entertained long after the sun had gone down. I can thoroughly recommend Haras du Gazon, although the best recommendation comes from the children who are desperate to return.

Sconniee    Surrey, United Kingdom Aug 2014



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This